Skip to main content

Academic Affairs, Administrative records

Identifier: UA-0005-43

Scope and Contents

This collection contains reports, letters, and a handbook.


  • 1972 - 1995

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Conditions Governing Use

Rights held by the University of West Georgia.

Biographical / Historical

As West Georgia College transitioned to the State University of West Georgia and then to the University of West Georgia, the unit responsible for academic affairs - which included matters such as academic policy administration, program coordination, academic integrity, research, academic support programming, and teaching - was not well identified as an entity. In past university records, it is frequently referred to as "the office of academic affairs." A clearer picture of the history of academic affairs at this institution comes from examining the title changes for the individual in charge of the unit. From 1940 to 1946 or 1947, this individual held a title that reflected his duties as both Dean and Registrar. W. Fred Gunn was in the position during that period. In either 1947 or 1948, the title changed to “Dean of Administration” and “Administrative Dean” (1960 to 1962). Dr. Lucien E. Roberts, Dr. William H. Row, and George W. Walker served in succession in that position. As the title transitioned to “Dean of the College,” George W. Walker continued in that role and became the first “Dean of Academic Affairs” in 1969. John M. Martin moved into the position the following year. In 1973, the chief academic officer was elevated to Vice President, called “Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs” in the 1973-1974 academic year and then “Vice President and Dean of Faculties.” This title continued through the end of the 1995–1996 academic year. John M. Martin, John T. Lewis, and Don Noel Smith served in succession in that position. In June 1996, West Georgia College was elevated to university status and its name changed to the State University of West Georgia. At that point, the title of the chief academic officer changed to “Vice President for Academic Affairs” with Thomas J. Hynes, Jr., holding that position from its inception. In January 2005, the university’s name changed to the University of West Georgia with Hynes still in the role of VPAA. In 2008, the title of the chief academic officer transitioned to “Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs” with Dr. Michael Horvath assuming this role in 2011 and J. Micheal Crafton succeeding him in 2014.


0.42 Linear Feet (1 box)




Materials related to the Office of Academic Affairs.


This collection was arranged in chronological order.

Guide to the Academic Affairs, Administrative Records
Madison Seyres
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the University of West Georgia Special Collections Repository

Special Collections, Ingram Library
University of West Georgia
1601 Maple Street
Carrollton GA 30118-2000 United States